adopted at the session of the Association of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize in St. Pölten (Austria) on 15 May 2003 with amendments adopted at the General Assembly of the Association of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize in Klaipeda (Lithuania) on 3 June 2016.


Aricle 1: Name and legal form

The Association of towns awarded the Europe Prize (hereinafter referred to as the “Association”) shall be operative by agreement with the Council of Europe.

The Association has its stamp and note-heads. The stamp and note-heads of the Association are kept in the Secretariat of the Association.

Article 2: Headquarters
The Secretariat shall be located at the headquarters of the Association at the time in question, in the town holding the chairmanship.The records of the Association shall be kept at the Council of Europe in Strasbourg.

Article 3: Aims and activities
The aim of the Association shall be to achieve greater unity among its members through exchange of information and discussion of questions of common interest particularly in the following fields:


  • encounters between public, semi-public and private organizations, particularly in the cultural sector;
  • European events;
  • measures for the promotion of European solidarity and understanding between peoples.


Article 4: Conditions of admission
Towns awarded the Europe Prize, instituted by the Committee of ministers of the Council of Europe on 20 June 1955 on the recommendation of the Parliamentary Assembly, may become members of the association.

Article 5: Rights and obligations
The members shall in particular have the right to be represented at meetings, conferences, courses, seminars and colloquia organized by the Association. They shall endeavor to give the Association the benefit of their knowledge and experience.

Article 6: Termination of membership
Members may terminate their membership of the Association at any time simply by means of a written declaration to the President of the Association.

They may rejoin at any time by means of a written application to the President.


Article 7:

A. Presiding town

The towns for presidency and vice-presidency in the Association shall be elected by a relative majority of the General Assembly participants, which shall consist of the mayors of their representatives. The period of presidency shall be two years. Re-election for a further two year period shall be possible.

A1. President

The President of the Association shall be the mayor of the town elected for the presidency. The Vice-President of the Association shall be the mayor of the town elected for the vice-presidency.  In the absence of the President, the Association shall be chaired by his representative. If the President leaves office early, meetings shall be chaired by the representative of the town elected for the presidency until the expiry of its term, provided that the persons concerned agree to this approach. Entitled to vote shall be the mayors or their representatives. The President shall be responsible for public relations.

Article 8: Composition

B. Presidium

The Presidium shall comprise the following members:

  1. the town currently presiding in the Association
  2. the town which previously presided in the Association.
  3. the town next in line to preside in the Association
  4. other towns selected on the basis of different geographical location and active involvement
  5.  a representative of the Council of Europe

The members of the Presidium shall be elected for a two year term by a relative majority of the General Assembly of members.

Each town shall appoint a person for dealing with the Association and to represent the town’s youth.

Article 9: Powers
The Presidiuml shall take any measures, initiatives or decision it considers appropriate to achieve the aims of the Association. In particular it may:

  1. organize conferences, courses, seminars and colloquia;
  2. present each year the program of activities for the following year;
  3.  draw up a progress report every two years.

Article 10: Meetings
Meetings of the Presidium shall be convened by the President. Where important matters are concerned, the Chairman of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe shall be consulted.

The Presidium and the General Assembly shall meet at least once a year.

Meetings may be held in a town other than the one elected for the presidency.

Article 11: Convening of meetings and agenda
The President shall give at least two months’ notice of meetings of the Presidium and the General Assembly. He or she shall draw up the agenda, which shall be appended to the letter convening the meeting.

Article 12: Records
A record shall be kept of decisions of the Presidium and the General Assembly. This document, drawn up in the working languages, shall be signed by the President.

Article 13: Decisions
The Presidium and the General Assembly shall take decisions by a relative majority of the voting members present. The decisions shall be forwarded in the form of recommendations to the mayors of town members and, where appropriate, to the organizations concerned.

Article 14: Committees
The Presidium may decide to set up advisory or technical committees to assist the Association in its works.

Article 15: Experts and observers
The Presidium may invite experts to its meetings to discuss specific problems. It may also allow representatives of the advisory or technical committees to attend its meetings as observers.

Article 16: Working languages
The working languages of the Association shall be English, French and one other language common to at least four prize-winning towns. Other languages may be allowed at the expense of the delegation using them.

Article 17: Working documents
Documents relating to the items on the draft agenda shall be drafted by the Presidnent in the working languages of the Association.

They shall in principle be sent to all members at the same time as the invitations to the meetings.

Article 17a: Representative offices

С. For optimizing its activities, the Association may establish its representative offices in prize-winning towns. The proposal for opening a representative office shall be made by the town, in which the representative office is to be opened, for the Presidium’s consideration. The decision about opening the representative office shall be taken by a relative majority of the General Assembly participants.


Article 18: Operating Costs

The President shall, through the prize-winning town he or she represents, bear all the operating costs of the Association.

The cost of organizing meetings, including that of simultaneous interpretation in the working languages, shall be borne by the prize-winning town in which the meeting is held.

Article 18a: Maintaining respresentative office

The cost of maintaining the representative office of the Association shall be borne by the prezie-winning town in which it is located.


These statues shall enter into force following a majority decisions by the General Assembly, three months after being signed by at least four members.

Article 19:
The General Assembly may decide at any time to dissolve the Association.

Statues adopted by the General Assembly on 15 May 2003 in St. Pölten/Austria and signed by the following towns awarded the Europe Prize:

City of Czestochowa (Poland)

Town of Braunfels (Germany)

Town of Cockermouth (Great Britain)

City of Klagenfurt (Austria)

City of Nancy (France)

The amendments were adopted at the General Assembly on 3 June 2016 in Klaipeda/Lithuania.